Accueil > En savoir plus

En savoir plus

Retrouvez ici des informations générales sur la ville de Matsue :

1. Matsue en chiffres

La ville de Matsue, fondée en 1611, est le chef-lieu du département de Shimane. Elle est située au centre de la région du San’in, faisant face d’un côté à la mer du Japon, et de l’autre à la chaîne de montagnes du Chûgoku. Matsue est à environ 180km de Hiroshima, et à 370km de Ôsaka en train. Elle est la deuxième plus grande ville de la côte de la mer du Japon, après Niigata.

Superficie 530.21 km2
Population 205544 habitants (mars 2014)
Climat Températures moyennes de 22 à 31 degrés en été, de 0.7 à 10.5 degrés en hiver, pour une moyenne annuelle de 14.4 degrés. Précipitations tous les mois de l’année, pouvant excéder 200mm en juillet et septembre.
Maire MATSUURA Masataka (depuis juin 2000)
Retour

2. Matsue ville moderne

A) Introduction

Matsue fut classée en 1951 « Ville culturelle et touristique internationale » aux côtés de Kyôto et Nara.

En mars 2012, elle reçut le statut de « Ville spéciale » (tokureishi) après sa fusion avec plusieurs villages environnants. Les tokureishi, au nombre de 40 dans tout le pays, sont des villes de plus de 200000 habitants auxquelles sont délégués certains pouvoirs habituellement donnés à de grandes métropoles.

B) Connaissez-vous Ruby ?

Ruby est un langage de programmation informatique créé par Matsumoto Yukihiro, originaire de Matsue. Le projet Ruby City est un ensemble de mesures prises par la ville afin de promouvoir l’utilisation du langage Ruby.

RUBY

C) Eco Matsue

No My-Car Days

Afin de contribuer à préserver l’environnement, Matsue a mis en place une « Semaine sans ma voiture », durant laquelle les automobilistes sont encouragés à utiliser les transports en commun.

Bus communautaires

Un service de bus communautaires a été mis en place afin de permettre notamment aux personnes âgées et aux handicapés de se déplacer, de développer les activités du centre-ville, et de réduire l’impact sur l’environnement. Le service est proposé à un tarif subventionné et sert de moyen de transport social.

Rideau vert

Un rideau vert est une protection faite de végétaux appliquée sur un bâtiment. En été, il bloque les rayons du soleil et permet ainsi de réduire l’utilisation d’air conditionné. La ville de Matsue utilise ce genre de rideaux afin de réduire sa consommation de Co2 en été.

Convention de Ramsar

Le lac Shinji, qui jouxte le centre-ville de Matsue, est plein de vie. Les animaux qui y vivent constituent une ressource précieuse, tout en étant indispensables au maintien de l’écosystème. Le lake Shinji est enregistré depuis 2005 comme un site Ramsar, bénéficiant ainsi de la coopération internationale afin d’éviter sa dégradation et de le préserver en tant qu’habitat notamment d’oiseaux migrateurs. La liste sur laquelle le lac Shinji est inscrit est celle des « Zones humides d’importance internationale ».

Retour

3. Relation internationales

Matsue fut classée en 1951 « Ville culturelle et touristique internationale » aux côtés de Kyôto et Nara. En plus de garder vivante les traditions japonaises, la ville s’investit beaucoup dans les relations internationales, et organise à ce titre plusieurs évènements, comme par exemple la Fête et la parade de la Saint Patrick. Lafcadio Hearn, écrivain Gréco-irlandais et Citoyen d’honneur de la ville, est un lien en Matsue et plusieurs villes à travers le monde, où il a résidé. C’est pour cela que Matsue entretient des liens étroits avec l’Irlande depuis 1988, ainsi qu’avec les villes suivantes :
(Plus d’informations sur Lafcadio Hearn dans la rubrique Histoire)

The friendship cities of Matsue are as follow.

Nouvelle Orléans, U.S.A

Lafcadio Hearn vécu et travailla à la Nouvelle Orléans durant dix années avant de se rendre à Matsue en 1890. Les relation culturelles entre les deux villes, basées sur cette histoire commune, ont débuté en 1990 et se sont renforcées en 1994 avec la signature d’un accord.

Jilin, Chine

Les échanges culturels ont débuté en 1995, puis se sont renforcés avec la signature d’un accord en 1999. Plusieurs lieux à Jilin sont baptisés en s’inspirant de Matsue, comme le « Pont de Matsue », afin de montrer les liens étroits qui unissent les deux villes.

Chinju, Corée du Sud

Chinju est une ville de culture et d’art, bordée d’eau. Un accord fut signé en 1999.

Hangzhou, China

Cultural exchange began in 1994, and a formal agreement was made in 2003. Like how Matsue is known for Lake Shinji, Hangzhou is known for its scenic West Lake.

Yinchuan, Chine

Le département de Shimane et la région autonome de Ningxia entretiennent des liens culturels étroits, et un accord a été signé en Matsue et la ville de Yinchuan en 2004.

Matsue entretient également un réseau de relations commerciales avec plusieurs partenaires à l’étranger comme la Russie, les Pays-bas et d’autres pays vers lesquels elle exporte des pivoines. La ville accueille des conférences et d’autres évènements internationaux dans son centre des conventions départemental Kunibiki Messe, comme récemment le 55ème Concours international d’expression en japonais, et le 23ème Japan-American Grassroots Summit.

Retour

4. Symboles et mascottes

Symboles de la ville

Le matsu de Matsue signifie « pin », et la colline sur laquelle est construit le château de Matsue s’appelait à l’origine Mont Kamst fait d’un cercle représentant une carapace de tortue, avec au centre trois aiguilles de pin. Matsue Symbol

Fleurs représentant Matsu

Camélia Camélia Pivoine Pivoine

Arbres représentant Matsue

Pin noir Pin noir Cerisier Cerisier

Coquillage et poisson représentant Matsue

Coquillage Shijimi Coquillage Shijimi Dorade japonaise Dorade japonaise

D’autres symboles habituellement associés à Matsue sont le coucher de soleil sur le lac Shinji, et le château de Matsue. Parce que le château est surnommé Chidori-jô, ou « château au pluvier », cet oiseau est aussi souvent associé à la ville. Des objets liés au En-musubi, (« croisée des destins », pouvoir de dieux à faire se rencontrer des personnes et à créer des couples) sont présents dans toute la ville, comme les nœuds blancs et rouges (ou roses) et le coquillage Shijimi (parce qu’en plus d’être le trésor du lac Shinji, ses deux coquilles s’assemblent parfaitement). Plus d’infos sur le En-musubi dans la rubrique Culture

Mascottes

On trouve en ville plusieurs mascottes, dont Appare-kun, un seigneur imaginaire censé être né en avril 1607, date du début de la construction du château, et sa femme Shijimi-Hime (Princesse Shijimi). On les rencontre parfois autour du Musée d’Histoire de Matsue. Appare-kun
Shimanekko est la mascotte du département de Shimane. Il s’agit d’un chat arborant un chapeau en forme de toit de sanctuaire shintô, et une corde sacrée shimenawa autour du cou, en référence au Grand sanctuaire d’Izumo. Ce chat sans âge et sans sexe fait des apparitions régulières lors d’évènement à Matsue, chef-lieu du département de Shimane. Shimanekko
島観連許諾第2475号
Yoshida-kun, héros du dessin animé populaire Eagle Talon, est aussi associé au département de Shimane. Malgré son air renfrogné, il aime Shimane et peut-être rencontré dans la ville. Yoshida-kun
Retour

HOME > Know More

Know More

Find more general information about Matsue here!

1. Matsue in figures

Matsue was founded in 1611, and is the capital of Shimane Prefecture. It is in the middle of the San-in region, which faces the Sea of Japan in the area north of the Chugoku mountain range in the Chugoku block of Japan’s main island, Honshu. Matsue is about 180km away from Hiroshima, and about 370km away from Osaka by train. Matsue stands as the second major city along the Sea of Japan coast, second to Niigata.

Area 530.21 km2
Population 205,544 (as of March 2014)
Weather Temperatures range from about 22°C to 31°C in summer, and 0.7°C to 10.5°C in winter, with a year-round average temperature of 14.4°C. Precipitation is common year-round, sometimes exceeding 200mm in July and September.
Mayor Mr. Masataka Matsuura (since June 2000)
Back to Top

2. Modern Matsue

A) Basic intro

In 1951, Matsue was designated as a City of Culture and International Tourism, along with Kyoto and Nara.

In March 2012, Matsue was designated as a special city (tokureishi), after it had merged with several other small cities and villages in the surrounding area and increased in size and population. A special city is a city with a population of at least 200,000, and is delegated a subset of the functions delegated to a core city, and there are currently 40 other such special cities throughout Japan.

B) Do you know Ruby?

Ruby is a software programming language designed by Yukihiro Matsumoto, a native of Matsue. The Ruby City project refers to efforts being made by Matsue to promote use of the Ruby programming language.

C) Eco Matsue

No My-Car Days

One of the ways Matsue goes green is to host a “No My-Car Week,” during which time people are encouraged to use public transportation to cut down on Co2 emissions.

Community bus

There is community bus service in order to provide a means of transportation for the elderly and handicapped, increase activity in the city center, and decrease the burden on the environment. It is provided at a minimal charge, and serves as one means of welfare service.

Green Curtains

A Green Curtain is a curtain on the wall of a building made of plants. In summer they cut down on heat from the rays of the sun to make it easier to avoid using air conditioning. The City of Matsue also uses Green Curtains to cut down on Co2 in summer.

Ramsar Convention

Lake Shinji, located around central Matsue, is abundant with nature. The fish and other creatures that live in it help sustain the people, and it is a crucial part of the local ecosystem. In 2005 Lake Shinji was registered as a Ramsar Site, in order to have the cooperation of the world in order to prevent its degradation and preserve it as a home to migratory birds and other species that depend on it. The list is formally called the List of Wetlands of International Importance.

Back to Top

3. International relations

In 1951, along with Kyoto and Nara, Matsue was designated an International Cultural and Sightseeing City. In addition to being a living example of traditional Japanese culture, Matsue also takes pride in engaging in international exchange, and has adopted events such as the annual Irish Festival and parade. Lafcadio Hearn, a Greek-Irish writer and Illustrious Citizen of Matsue, is a link between Matsue and various other cities around the world. As such, Matsue has maintained special ties with Ireland since 1988. In additional to these ties, Matsue has formal relationships with the following cities. More info about Lafcadio Hearn in our History section.

The friendship cities of Matsue are as follow.

New Orleans, U.S.A.

Lafcadio Hearn lived in and wrote about New Orleans for ten years before moving to Matsue in 1890. Based on this shared history, cultural exchange began in 1990, with a formal agreement signed in 1994.

Jilin, China

Cultural exchange began in 1995, with a formalised agreement signed in 1999. There are many places in Jilin named after Matsue to demonstrate the cities’ close ties, including Matsue Bridge.

Chinju, South Korea

Chinju is a city of culture and art, and it is surrounded by water. A formal agreement was signed in 1999.

Hangzhou, China

Cultural exchange began in 1994, and a formal agreement was made in 2003. Like how Matsue is known for Lake Shinji, Hangzhou is known for its scenic West Lake.

Yinchuan, China

Shimane Prefecture and Ningxia Autonomous Region have maintained a rich cultural exchange, and a formal city agreement between Matsue and Yinchuan was made in 2004.

Matsue also has formal Sister City agreements with three Japanese cities and a town; Takarazuka (Hyogo Pref.), Suzu (Ishikawa Pref.), Onomichi (Hiroshima Pref.), and Oguchi (Aichi Pref.).

Matsue also has many worldwide trading partners, such as for the export of peonies to gardening enthusiasts in Russia, the Netherlands, and other countries. The city hosts international conferences and events at the Kunibiki Messe Shimane Prefectural Convention Centre (see the Matsue Convention Bureau Website). Furthermore, the city has also recently hosted international events such as the 55th International Speech Contest in Japanese, and the 23rd Japan-America Grassroots Summit.

Back to Top

4. Symbols and mascots

City Symbol
The matsu of Matsue is the character for pine, and the hill that Matsue Castle was built on was originally named Mt. Kameda, as kame refers to turtles. Therefore, the outside of the circle is designed to resemble a turtle shell, and the inside of the circle represents pine needles. Matsue Symbol
City Flowers

Camellia

Camellia

Peony

Peony

City Trees

Black pine

Black pine

Cherry

Cherry

City Shellfish and Fish

Shijimi Clam

Shijimi Clam

Red Sea Bream

Red Sea Bream

Some other symbols commonly associated with Matsue are the sunset at Lake Shinji and Matsue Castle. Because Matsue Castle is nicknamed Chidori-jo, or “Plover Castle,” plover bird symbols are used frequently. Items related to En-musubi (matchmaking or fate-binding) are also commonly found throughout the city, such as red (or pink) and white ribbons tied together, or shijimi clam shells. Not only are shijimi clams a famous product from Lake Shinji, but each pair of shells forms a perfect, unique match. [More info about En-musubi in Culture]

Mascots

There are many mascots characters around town, including Appare-kun –a fictional fuedal lord said to have been born on 5 April 1607, at the time of building the castle–and his wife, Shijimi-hime (“Shijimi Clam Princess”). You can often see them around Matsue History Museum.

Appare-kun

Shimanekko is Shimane Prefecture’s tourism mascot. This cat is dressed as a Shinto shrine like Izumo Taisha, with a roof as a hat and a shimenawa (sacred rope) around his/her neck. This smiling cat of undisclosed gender and age makes many appearances at events in Matsue, Shimane’s capital.

Shimanekko
島観連許諾第2475号

Another famous character associated with Shimane Prefecture is Yoshida-kun, a character from a popular flash animation cartoon called “Eagle Talon.” Despite his scowl, he loves Shimane, and can be spotted around Matsue.

Yoshida-kun
Back to Top